Boatload


I seriously considered doing NaNoWriMo this month– writing an entire 50,000 word novel in the month of November. But with two new things that have propped up in the past few weeks– a part-time paid job (more details to come) and an agent for my first novel (hence, more editing of Secrets). I’m bowing out gracefully before even getting started.

Having said that, I’ve gotten a good start on Finding Om. I’ve got a very rough draft of 50ish pages, which I’ll now rewrite and revise in time for my first January residency at Queens. The pages are pretty terrible, but they exist, and that’s all that matters at this point in the game. I’ve got two months to make them decent, and having written a novel before, I now have a better understanding of how I need to tell the story.

Also, my almost 11 year-old was a big help in the inspiration department. I asked her to make me an origami boat that could actually float. A floating origami boat is crucial to my plot in Finding Om. She searched YouTube (the best website ever for origami), folded one right up, and set it in a bowl full of water to test it out. It worked! And I’m relieved.

*    *    *    *    *    *    *

I’ve been looking at images of the destruction of hurricane Sandy for days now, and thinking about all of the people out there suffering. If you can, please text the word REDCROSS to 90999 for a quick and easy $10 donation. I’m sure every little bit helps. If you wish to give more, you can just go to the website.

Have a great weekend. Enjoy the extra hour of sleep.

One thought on “Boatload

Leave a Reply

